The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

The competition includes seven juried awards ranging from best single article to best commentary to best in-depth reporting. Winners are announced at an awards ceremony held each year in New York City, where the Newhouse School also presents two special awards: the Fred Dressler Leadership Award and the i-3 award for impact innovation and influence.

Past participants in the Mirror Awards ceremony include a “who’s who” of media industry power players, including Katie Couric, Peter Bart, Gayle King, Dennis Crowley, Meredith Vieira, Brian Roberts, Anne Sweeney, David Zaslav, Arianna Huffington, Kelly Ripa, Michael Strahan, Walt Mossberg and others.